Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Just In Case You’re Wondering Where Toshiro Mifune Rests On The Totem Pole Of Badassery.

The clip above comes from the strange, but logical Spaghetti Western and chanbara combination flick, Red Sun.

Directed by Terence Young of England, shot in Spain, and starring a cast made up of stars from the U.S., Japan, and every corner of Europe, Red Sun stands as one of the single most culturally diverse films of it’s time.

I don’t think I have to tell you, it was a product of the bizarre cultural climate of the era known as “The 70’s.”

I have no fucking clue why Sonny Chiba is wearing a velcro suit. Don't bother asking, it was the 70's.

That being said, while the film is hardly one of the best of Charles Bronson or Toshiro Mifune’s career, any movie that feature such legends of MANLY badassery deserves a watch or 2.

Sadly, the same cannot be said for The Challenge, AKA that one movie with a badass Scott Glenn at the height of his powers, and Mifune wearing a ridiculous fucking wig:

Yup, that's exactly the kind of face I'd make if I had a shitty ass wig glued to my head.

In any case, it’s worth noting that the clip above has obviously been edited, in my opinion for the better.

Sadly, Mifune did not in fact toss Charles Bronson around for 2-3 minutes in the actual film, rather he only did so for about 20-30 seconds.

As much as I like Bronson, I think I prefer the “extended” version…

Filed under: Movies, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses

  1. tay00lor says:

    wholesalewigsonline.com highly recommend.. I personally purchased a lot of human hair hand made wefts and human hair wigs from wholesalewigsonline.com i got my hair so fast and it is absolutely the softest, most beautiful hair i have ever seen it is always smooth and delightful, the quality of the hair is wonderful, this hair is awesome! the hair was simple to maintain and i love the natural look of it i got tons of compliments! excellent quality and durability ,it is easy to work with and maintain on

  2. Joe says:

    Mifune is a badass for sure. One of my favorite Japanese actors. I’m sure it goes without saying, but Rashomon and Seven Samurai are both worth checking out if you haven’t seen them.

    On the subject of Japanese badasses, I hold Takeshi Kitano in pretty high regard as well.

    • aznbadger says:

      Kitano’s always been pretty awesome, though his sensibilities have begun to lean more towards the artistic over the past decade or so. My favorite Japanese badasses are Toshiro Mifune, Yusaku Matsuda, and Sonny Chiba, in that order.

Leave a Reply

