Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

I Think I Just Found My New Favorite Movie

“Holy shit…”

Those were the words that crept out of my mouth as I looked on in bedazzled awe at the brutal majesty of the trailer for The Raid.

Good trailers are hard to come by, let alone of the exhilarating and breathtaking variety; but if you ask me, The Raid might take the cake.

Back in the day I watched the trailers for The Dark Knight and Flash Point over and over again due to the artistry in their composition, but Jesus-fuck man, I’ll be damned if The Raid doesn’t absolutely blow them out of the water with pure adrenaline and carnage.

That being said, I feel I should mention that I have an unwatched copy of Merantau that’s been sitting on my shelf for the past 6 months.

Immediately after watching the trailer for The Raid and seeing what the crew behind it were truly capable of, (the same crew that worked on Merantau including director Gareth Evans and star Iko Uwais) I started kicking myself over dodging Merantau all this time.

That’s right, I was so upset with myself that I literally kicked myself in the fucking brain.

Rest assured, though I may have found reasons to overlook it in the past, after watching the trailer for The Raid, I’ll likely be popping Merantau into my DVD player within the next few hours.

Make that NOW.

Anyway, there’s not a whole lot to say about The Raid, other than the fact that it looks like an action/martial arts movie lover’s dream.

I could be assuming too much, but from what I saw in the trailer and read in reviews (all of which were absolutely glowing), the movie basically consists of a simple setup in the form of a police raid on a criminal infested apartment complex, and after that it’s just a rollercoaster of fighting and shoot outs.

It’s like Black Hawk Down, mixed with the hospital scene in Hard Boiled.

Throw in a healthy dose of martial arts, and play it all out over the course of THE ENTIRE FILM, and you have yourself the makings of a perfect movie.

If I could make a movie, The Raid is probably a good example of the kind of shit I’d dump my money into.

Seriously man, this movie looks so hardcore, and I can’t wait to see it.

And I’m guessing you’ll feel the same way once you take a look at perhaps the single most breathtaking action movie trailer I’ve ever seen:

Filed under: Kung Fu, Movies, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses

  1. Russ Nickel says:

    Kicked yourself in the brain?! Very impressive haha

    http://thenickelscreen.com

  2. That was pretty exciting. I liked all the martial arts, the brutality impressed me, and I was pleasantly surprised that both sides appear to have a stable of bad-asses instead of either of them just being composed of nameless schmucks with a ring leader or two.

  3. MirzArtz says:

    MirzArtz reblogged this on Spikey Daddy and commented: Can’t wait to be released in its hometown..

  4. ari says:

    have u browse recently? The Raid wins award at Toronto International Film Festival and directly being talked about over the internet and hailed as one of the best action movie in years, or ever!
    Distribution rights sold to over 50 countries, Sony for US. Screen Gems on negotiation to make Hollywood Remake for this. This is on my Must See list.

    • aznbadger says:

      Foh’ real!? I can’t wait to see this movie…

      • Nirmala says:

        Let’s just hope they cancel the plan to make the Hollywood remake. Any remake for action movies will hold no candle to the original. And I don’t think any Hollywood action megastar has expertise in Silat. One of the main reasons why the audience think The Raid is such a spectacular movie is the silat choreography designed by Iko Uwais and Yayan Ruhian, two stars of the movie.

      • aznbadger says:

        Sounds like a limited theatrical run is expected in the U.S. at some point. Regardless, I’m really looking forward to a DVD release of any regional encoding. The sooner the better…

  5. Sean Parker says:

    That is a pretty striking trailer. Action movies usually don’t have the guts to go the “artsy manly” route but this one sure did. The music really makes it for me — the complete lack of real sound really leaves a lot to the imagination, despite the high intensity.

    Saw this a while back and it’s kinda been on my radar, now that you’ve brought it up again I think I’ll have to check it out.

  6. Joe says:

    Music by Linkin Park? Gross, dude.

    At least (if the above comment is to be believed) Sony bought the rights and not the Weinsteins. We may end up seeing the entire movie instead of just two thirds of it.

  7. Joe says:

    Oh wait, it’s just one of the guys from Linkin Park. Still a complete bummer.

  8. Nirmala says:

    Sony will release it in theaters around April 2012. For those who want to see the US premier of the movie, check out its schedule at Sundance : http://filmguide.sundance.org/film/120114/the_raid

Leave a Reply

