Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Whaddaya Know, Someone’s Making A Casey Jones Fan Film!

CASEY JONES WEBSITE 

Before anyone asks, yes; I did find out about this through Cinemassacre AKA The Den of the Angry Videogame Nerd.

That being, it could just be me; but I think this trailer for a indie Casey Jones movie actually looks pretty good.

“Looks” being the operative word in that sentence, given the lack of sound and dialogue.

Given that the Youtube page for the trailer advertises an iTunes link for the movies’ soundtrack, I think it’s safe to assume that the music used in the trailer, John Du Prez music from the original 1990 live-action Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles; won’t be used in the final product.

While I’m on the topic of Ninja Turtle movies and the early 90’s in general, it needs to be said that the makers of this Casey Jones film obviously approached their film with a great deal of love for the source material; which is appropriate given that their product is essentially a fan-film.

For Christ’s sake, the signature piece of the soundtrack is titled “Goongala,” the phrase Casey Jones used as his battle cry in the original Ninja Turtle comics.

The lighting and atmosphere in this trailer is quite impressive and almost oppressively dark, to the point that I don’t think it’s a stretch to say the makers were actually wise to “sell” their film on the strength of the visuals alone.

The cinematography is equally brilliant, adding an extra dimension to many of the fight scenes; which I might add, seem ably choreographed for the most part.

I don’t think I need to tell you that that last part is one helluva’ complement coming from a movie fight nut like myself.

Moving on, while some people might snicker at the Michelangelo costume featured towards the end of the video, I actually kind of liked it.

Given the relative lack of budget that I’m assuming the filmmakers had to work with, I wouldn’t expect much in the way of intricate costuming or sets, but even if I were to disregard that I’d say they did a good job on Mikey.

The costume itself isn’t perfect, but it gets the point across, and actually looks spot on at times when it’s lit just right.

Also, it needs to be said that whoever did the “suit acting” for Mike did an amazing job.

I don’t know if they used him as inspiration for their style of movement, but I see more than a little of the “old” Mike in this take on the character.

Anyway, the full movie debuts online on September 17th.

Count me in for the premiere!

Filed under: Movies, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses

  1. Sean Parker says:

    At least the costume looks better than the TMNT III version! Don’t think many can deny that….

    Also, the colors are hard to tell from the trailer but I’m pretty sure that’s Mikey. The nunchuks give it away.

  2. Wow, this looks awesome! But then, I’m unfairly biased in favor of TMNT… Still, I’d definitely watch it and probably enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

