Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Summon Cardboard Box!

Man, it’s been awhile since I’ve made a Magic card!

This one took a lot longer than it probably looks, mostly because I went to great lengths to actually make it as opposed to just snagging something off Google Images and slapping a filter on it.

If you want an example of how easy this card could’ve been to make, here’s an image that probably could’ve done the job just fine that I found in about 5 seconds of searching:

Pictured: The easy route.

Anyway, the card above is of course an homage to the famed cardboard box device from the Metal Gear series.

In all honesty, though I’ve played through every entry in the Metal Gear Solid series multiple times; I’ve rarely found a use for the cardboard box in any of them.

I know they’re useful for quickly jumping around the map via trucks and conveyors, but outside of punching Meryl to make the wolf pup pee on my box; I never really made use of them.

What?  You didn’t know about the wolf piss?

*ANYWAY* much like the old N64 Turok games, it’s hard to deny that Metal Gear games are big on loading you up with cool gadgets and abilities; only to end up giving you very little reason to use them.

Turok gave you awesome guns, but nothing to shoot at.

Metal Gear gave you an amazing range of abilities, but no real practical reason to employ them outside of for shits and giggles.

As fun as that looked in the trailers, for the life of me I never found a reason to do a barrel roll in Metal Gear Solid 4.

Anyway, thanks for stopping by, let me know if the text on the card needs to be changed or anything.

Filed under: Games, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Sean Parker says:

    My favorite activity with the box was to stalk a guard in it until they were certain it wasn’t “just a box” and decided to flip it open, at the exact moment that I’d activate the stealth. Just imagining what was going on in the poor guy’s head during that awkward moment of creepiness was pure gold.

    • aznbadger says:

      Haha, never thought of doing that before! Personally, I always liked to use the stealth camo to punch guards and then disappear, but that’s just me. In MGS 2 my favorite thing was to knock guys out, use the coolant spray to wake them up; and then stand behind them to choke them out again. Man, all this Metal Gear talk makes me want to go back and play them all over again…

Leave a Reply

