Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Early Avengers Poster Makes Me Feel All Warm And Fuzzy Inside

Photo courtesy of Toplessrobot.com. Hope they don't mind...

It’s funny, even though this is nothing but a (official) photoshopped mock-up of what a real poster for The Avengers might look like; it actually looks kind of good to me.

These days I find myself actually consciously trying harder to be excited/positive about things; and it’s quality products like this one that make said task just a little bit easier to manage.

Probably the coolest part about the poster, at least to me; is that it serves as my first real look at what all the live-action versions of the Avengers look like next to one another.

While I have no idea whether the art design for all the Avengers tie-in films has been directed by the same crew/individual, I must say; the character designs gel together quite nicely.

With the exception of maybe Thor, the costumes all bear a weighty, leathery, almost utilitarian feel to them that gives them that always appealing combo of being “ornate, yet plausible.”

Much unlike anything seen in Final Fantasy, which tends to throw "plausible" out the window.

Hell even Hulk, with his more streamlined Incredible Hulk look; seems to fit in quite well.

Hawkeye’s digs seem perhaps a little too subdued for my tastes, however I can definitely understand why Marvel would want to turn down the guy’s purple quotient; as much like Jem, in the comics it is truly outrageous.

Truly, Truly, Truly Outrageous!

On a side note, Iron Man’s design appears to have been altered since Iron Man 2, as evidenced by the gray patches on his collar.

Though it may just be an artist’s flub, the shape of the glow on his chest emblem looks more round than triangular to me; leading me to assume that either:

A): Tony Stark decided to reshape his new element core into a circle for aesthetic purposes.

B):  Severely inebriated and desperate for a way show the world how fat his cock is, Tony Stark decided to outfit his newest armor with one of his old and HIGHLY TOXIC palladium cores.

C):  I’m wrong, and his chest emblem is in fact triangular.

or D):  The poster artist isn’t as OCD as the average comic fan and/or hasn’t seen Iron Man 2.

My vote would go to option A, though if you’re going by some of the comics, option B is equally plausible.

Option C is of course a statistical impossibility, and was only suggested in jest.

"I am so smart! S-M-R-T!"

Anyway, I know it’s cheesy, I know it’s childish; but for whatever reason, this poster pleases me.

It’s exceedingly well designed, the colors have been tweaked to vivid perfection, and seeing all of the characters posing together makes me believe the movie could work.

Now let’s just hope Captain America doesn’t drop the fuckin’ ball next month and kill my buzz…

Filed under: Comics, Games, Movies, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses

  1. Sean Parker says:

    The interesting thing about it is that the composition and design make it not really look like a typical comic-book-movie poster, but it DOES look a heck of a lot like a comic-book-book cover. I doubt they’ll stick with that approach come the major marketing campaign — they’ll probably try to make it look all cinematic and shit. Which is fine, but seemingly inevitable.

  2. Haha Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner? Weird.

  3. David says:

    I am extremely excited about this–and getting some serious screen time for Hawkeye hopefully–and have probably mentioned before that I’ve been really impressed with how Marvel has been handling their own property since they started actually making the movies–if less so on how they’ve handled some of their actors and such.

    • aznbadger says:

      I had no idea you were a Hawkeye fan. When I was a kid, I remember always picking him in the Captain America and The Avengers arcade game. I liked him a lot back in the day, mostly on account of his weapon and costume; but in recent days I’ve kind of lost touch with his character. Somewhere around the time he supposedly died and became Ronin, I just sort of gave up.

Leave a Reply

