Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Remember When David Arquette Won The WCW Title?

Yeah, that actually happened.

Even during the Monday Night Wars, I always kind of thought of WCW as the AAA to the WWF’s major league.

Don’t get me wrong, my brother and I definitely flipped back and forth between RAW and Nitro during commercial breaks, but in terms of the quality of the storylines and announcing; Vince McMahon’s crew were light years ahead of Turner’s boys.

The one saving grace of WCW, besides the nostalgia factor of seeing the old dogs work the mic and not wrestle except on pay-per-views; was the huge roster of high-flyers and cruiserweights.

It’s easy to forget, what with all the NWO and Raven’s Nest bullshit in between, but Eddie Guerrero, Juventud Guerrera, Rey Mysterio Jr., Psicosis, Jushin Liger, and even Ultimo Dragon put on some awesome matches for WCW.

To this day, I still think back on the cruiserweight matches of WCW as being some of the best displays of athleticism and technical skill I’ve ever seen in wrestling.

It makes me sad that the WWF has decided to make the aging Rey Mysterio their one and only Luchador, likely in an attempt to elevate his status with the fans and make him seem more talented.

How you could ever think having less Lucha Libre guys in your roster would be better for the business is seriously beyond me, but I guess that’s why I’m unemployed and McMahon’s throwing money into making the XFL and getting his wife into the U.S. senate.

Anyway, I seem to have depressed myself.

Time to go watch some Tiger Mask

Filed under: Uncategorized, Wrestling, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

