Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Attempted Screenplay #4,701

Answer: YES.

Yesterday I found myself slapped in the face by my fair weather friend, “creative inspiration.”

I didn’t have any super-awesome ideas or anything, rather I was simply struck with the feeling of “I need to do something EPIC.”

Said feeling arose in direct response to a film I watched yesterday, directed by a good friend of mine; Sean Parker.

The movie in question was Mr. Parker’s most recent film, called “Coup De Cinema.”

TRAILER HERE

I’ve got a full-blown review planned for “Coup De Cinema” in the near future, but for now, I just want to ruminate on the creative fire that it lit under my ass.

Seeing my friend’s work, written and directed with such professionalism and polish, made me remember that I’d like to make a “real” film someday too.

The first step to actually making a film though, comes in the form committing to the project, of dedicating one’s self to getting it off the ground.

I’ve always been kind of flaky in retaining interest in my various film projects, rarely getting more than a few pages into the writing process; but at present, I’m feeling a little more committed to the idea of devoting myself wholeheartedly to a project.

I’m getting older, I’m not working at the moment, I’ve been consistently writing every day for over a year; I think it’s about time I tried shooting for something “big” by my virtually non-existent standards.

In all my years, I’ve barely made a complete film; and at this point I’d really like to change that.

As of yesterday, I’ve started writing a formal screenplay for a very much d0-able movie; and if every goes my way, hopefully I’ll be done with a draft within a month or so.

I’m lacking for resources and manpower, but I figure if I can at least get the whole thing, from start to finish; on paper, I might be able to inspire my neighborhood buddies to help me get it shot.

Anyway, thanks Sean Parker for making such an awesome movie, and for giving me the creative kick in the sack that I’ve been needing since… Well, since college.

 

Filed under: Movies, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Sean Parker says:

    I’m glad the film could be of service. You truly do need to do something epic.

  2. David says:

    Yeah, Coup De Cinema was very inspiring like that. Sadly I’ve never had aspirations to make movies, only to write for them.

    Though if you need a proof-reader/peer-editor/guy-to-bounce-ideas-off please keep me in mind.

Leave a Reply

