Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Cool Movie Idea

I’m an “idea” guy.

I’m one of those guys that can come with some of the coolest shit you’ve ever heard of, ON A DAILY FUCKING BASIS; though I rarely ever sit down and actually carry said ideas from conception to reality.

In case you couldn’t tell, it kind of sucks to be an “idea” guy.

That being said, today I had another idea for a movie; though as always tends to be the case with everything I post on this blog, I’m really hoping to try and make something of it.

You see, a friend of mine has access to several acres of empty forest and unobstructed farmland.

Part of the problem with most of the films I’ve wanted to make in my life, is the fact that I’ve rarely had ready access to a reliable location.

None of my friends have homes that are easy to maneuver a camera in, and most of the stuff I’d like to film outdoors is on the more violent side; making it somewhat inappropriate to film in public parks.

In that sense, having access to the aforementioned farmland should serve to win us half the battle.

Anyway, the basic premise my friends and I started from today in a brainstorm, was that of a classic Western sort of film.

Based on the fact that we don’t exactly have much money or people to work with, it was decided that a minimalist Western or post-apocalyptic film would be a good genre to work from.

I myself am leaning towards the idea of portraying the film as being “out of time,” meaning time and place are essentially irrelevant or intentionally inconsistent.

My reasoning for this is the fact that decent looking period clothing and accessories are not something I have ready access to, and I’d rather not make a fool of myself trying to pretend I do with cheap knock-off materials.

That being said, my idea casts a mysterious hero as a wanderer through a purgatory of sorts.

Basically, the movie would involve said protagonist waking up in a barren wasteland, neither alive nor dead.

Trapped in limbo, the hero is informed by a longtime resident of the doldrums that the only way to escape from purgatory is to retrieve A MACGUFFIN from a number of men wandering the wastes.

Of course, being as this is a movie idea from the Azn Badger, retrieval of said MacGuffin’s will ultimately involve much fighting and violence.

Oh yeah, and luchador masks… Lots and lots of luchador masks…

The real catch however, is the fact that it’s not certain what reward awaits the hero at the end of his journey I.E. heaven or hell or maybe even a return to Earthly existence.

The fun of this premise, to me at least; is the fact that the rules of the world it’s set in don’t have to be clearly defined to work as an entertaining story.

Said premise allows the viewer to come up with explanations of their own, while at once allowing me to approach it with my own concrete ideas in mind.

In my mind, the purgatory of this film is meant to be a transitional plain of existence, one that many visit; but none permanently reside in.

The MacGuffins represent fragments of a previous form of authority in purgatory, one that was previously destroyed by those that carry them currently.

This has the effect of cutting purgatory off from the other supernatural realms, resulting in no one being able to move on to heaven or hell.

The carriers of the MacGuffins aren’t exactly evil per se, rather they are simply selfish individuals that have chosen to obstruct the natural order of things in order to claim dominion over purgatory.

In a sense, they take on the mindset of a convict, choosing to carve out a place for themselves in prison despite their circumstances.

The fun part of all this explanation though, is the fact, should I actually get around to filming it; I don’t think I’d include much of it at all.

The end result would probably be the equivalent to a Metal Gear movie, with a hero that wanders around for awhile, only to end up fighting really cool “boss characters” in between story beats.

Oh yeah, and let’s not forget the cryptic-ass plot that nobody gets…

With enough enthusiasm, and some cool characters, I think this movie could really work.

I’m gonna’ keep working on it, but so far I think I’m off to a good start.

What do you think?

Filed under: Movies, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses

  1. Sean Parker says:

    Movies need more boss battles. So, count me interested in seeing it play out!

    • aznbadger says:

      Damn straight movies need more boss battles! How goes the Coup? Any progress with putting together a DVD, or has that ship sailed already?

      • Sean Parker says:

        Yep, and its almost ready for ya! I just want to make sure you get the final version with good audio all the way through. Right now it’s 80% great and 20% not so hot. Hopefully this week it’ll be in the mail.

      • aznbadger says:

        Sagittarius Fantabulous-ness! Very much looking forward to it sir!

  2. GoodasGold says:

    This is a good start – it will probably evolve into something somewhat different than you originally imagined.
    Don’t know if you were aware that you may have a secret fan over at the Guardian:

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/2011/may/10/conan-v-conan-the-barbarian-arnie-arnold-schwarzenegger

    • aznbadger says:

      Thanks for the link. Though the guy has some valid points, it’s still hard for me to be all that enthusiastic about the new Conan; regardless of how campy the old one was…

  3. David says:

    I love your ideas and would like to work with you on making one happen sometime. Not terribly much I can contribute… But I was in Mediaworks, and I can act. And in particular writing is my passion. So if any of that would be useful to you…

    Seems like a cool concept, and I love the background providing room for over-analysis of the movie without totally wasting your time.

    • aznbadger says:

      Thanks David, means a lot. Oh yeah, don’t be surprised if I call upon your assistance as an actor at some point. Sorry if the word “don’t” appears in the version of this comment you get. I miss-typed…

Leave a Reply

