Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Character Designs Via HeroMachine!

I’d just like to kick things off by saying “thank you.”

Today marks the 1 year anniversary of The Azn Badger’s Blog, so “thanks” for reading and/or commenting, I assure you it’s very much appreciated on my end.

Anyway, sappy bullshit aside, let’s get to the actual post, shall we?

Have you ever been to a site called HeroMachine.com?

I forget what I was searching for, but I ended up stumbling across this site while I was Google-ing last night; and boy am I glad I did.

As it so happens, HeroMachine is a Flash based web-tool that essentially serves as a superhero character generator.

Using a very straightforward and intuitive “paper doll” mechanic similar to the one’s found in the Smackdown! vs. RAW videogames, you’re able to create and accessorize your own characters.

Pictured: The interface.

While normally I’d write this kind of thing off as a waste of time akin to a Facebook game, after tooling around with it for awhile; I became enamored with it’s breadth of content.

The artwork for all of the items/parts in it’s library is extremely well-drawn, plus there’s so much shit to choose from that I rarely found myself frustrated in terms getting what I wanted out of it.

Anyone who’s read this blog before probably knows that I’m a pretty big Marvel/DC comic fan; so HeroMachine ended up being a lot of fun for me.

That being said, here are some of the designs I ended up coming up for a comic book inspired story idea I had awhile back:

Pictured: Zero, the morally questionable protagonist.

This one is of the main character.

Inspirations for this design include some Deadpool/Deathstroke references in the mask and body pattern, as well as a bit of Cable in the boots.

I don’t know what it is, maybe I was just in a Rob Liefield sort of mood yesterday…

Pictured: 2nd draft of Zero.

This one is a 2nd draft of the main character.

Changes include some tweaks to his belt to seem more practical/realistic, removal of the Cable boots to make his body lines seem more sleek, the addition of some Beetle or Batman-like “ears” to the mask, and the addition of a katana to see what he’d look like with something for an accessory.

At this point I’m leaning towards the 2nd design, though I might have to color it to see how well the body patterns work out.

Pictured: Fanto, an interdimensional being and fairly major antagonist.

This one is of a pretty big villain in the story, who also happens to serve as comic relief from time to time.

I know that doesn’t really make sense, but bear with me…

Anyway, inspirations include Dormammu for the armor and stature, with just a hint of Baron Zemo in the form of the fuzzy bits on his neck and cape.

The main idea I was working from while putting this one together was that I wanted him to seem imposing and “war-like,” while at the same time just a little bit over-the-top so as to make him kind of hard to take seriously.

I think the goofy helmet and gaudy cape do enough to make this clear, however I might have to tweak it some more to make him seem less powerful.

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for now.

Check back tomorrow for the beginning of an awesome new Top 10 list!

Filed under: Comics, Games, Movies, Wrestling, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses

  1. David says:

    Bad-ass. I love seeing the designs for your characters, and would still love to see where you go with that story… And sounds like a website I may need to bookmark.
    I had fun running my characters through a Mary-Sue test I found (some of them were pretty Mary-Sue it turns out), but this sounds even better.

    • aznbadger says:

      I’d definitely recommend giving this site a try David. Let me know when you get around to making some designs of your own!

      • David says:

        They’ll probably go up on my site if I do get some done. Preliminary investigation indicates this Hero Builder is more complicated than I was expecting though.

Leave a Reply

