Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

“Flip Six Three Hole, On One!”

Didja’ ever see Starship Troopers?

Remember the “Jump Ball” game near the beginning?

More importantly, do you remember that stupid-ass play the heroes ran to win the game?

It’s funny, I’ve seen Starship Troopers about a billion fuckin’ times now; but up until about 20 minutes ago, I always heard the name of that play as “Flip Sticksssssreeee Hole.”

"HOOOOAAAAAAALLLLLLLL!!!!!"

In case you couldn’t tell from the phonetic clusterfuck pictured/mentioned above, Dina Meyer slurred her line pretty epicly, and my dumb brain decided to take what it heard and just sort of run with it.

Anyway, “Flip Sticksssssreeee Hole” came up recently in a conversation between my buddy Mencius and I, which of course led to much hilarity and me deciding that I needed to make a Magic card of it.

In ripping screen captures from my DVD of Starship Troopers though, the thought occurred to me that-

“Holy shit!  I can’t call the card Flip Stickssssreeee Hole, that’d be fuckin’ stupid!  Better turn on the subtitles…”

Well, I went ahead and did that, and lo’ and behold they turned my whole world upside down:

FLIP.

SIX.

THREE.

HOLE.

I saw Starship Troopers in the theater as a decidedly underage 11 year old.

That was back in fuckin’ 1997.

That means I’ve spent 14 years laughing about a stupid line in a movie without even knowing half the fuckin’ words in it.

Man, I need to sit down…

Filed under: Games, Movies, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

