Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Thundercats Movie?

Let me lay this shit out for you:

The Grammy’s are on tonight, my WordPress is fuckin’ broken, and I’ve been playing Valkyria Chronicles all day.

Add all that shit up, and you get an evening scenario that involves me not wanting to write tonight.

That being said, you remember that fan-made fake trailer for a live-action Thundercats movie?

In case you don’t, here it is:

As goofy, and unintentionally hilarious as that may have been, I tip my hat to whoever made it; as I can’t imagine the time they must have put into it.

Anyway, for all intents and purposes, this clip serves as the best indication of what a potential remake of the Thundercats series could look like in this day and age.

That, and fuckin’ Avatar

Getting to the point, I was pokin’ around Twitchfilm.com earlier today, and I happened to notice a news post regarding the emergence of possible footage for a CG Thundercats movie or series:

Wow, I can’t speak to the quality of the audio, (no sound on my computer…) but that shit looks dated.

Like, CG TMNT movie dated…

Based on the quality of the animation, my guess is that this footage was indeed produced for a feature film; (albeit, a shitty one) however that’s just a guess, and an uneducated guess at that.

Thundercats was a product of it’s time.

It was a decent cartoon, with terrible animation, horribly dated character designs, and one of those gorgeous opening sequences that so many cartoons of the era used to trick kids into thinking they were getting ready to watch the coolest shit ever.

Hell, the same production company, and the same voice cast tried the same damn thing with the equally mediocre Silver Hawks:

… And then tried the same shit with the crappy, utterly doomed-from-the-start show that was Tigersharks:

The point is, Thundercats worked for us as kids, but I guarantee you that if you take a look back at it now, you’ll find that the magic has long since faded away.

Trust me, I’m speaking from experience on this one.

The question I ask in regards to a possible redo/reboot of the Thundercats franchise, is the same one I ask whenever something of a previous generation is recycled/repackaged for today’s youth:

Why?

In the interest of brevity, I’m going to leave things at that and go watch a stupid fuckin’ music awards show that involves not one artist I’m familiar with.

Man, I need a job…

Filed under: Games, Movies, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses

  1. David says:

    Aw, I liked Thundercats and was thinking of looking it up again. Not worth it?

    • aznbadger says:

      Maybe if you’ve got some friends to help you make fun of it, but otherwise I’d say it’s probably not worth it. Then again, if you really did enjoy Thundercats in your youth, then chances are the nostalgia factor might make for some good times. Personally though, I think I’m pretty much done with Thundercats.

      • David says:

        I like the friends idea. I know I’ve hit a few things, like A Troll in Central Park, where the nostalgia factor was not enough to compensate for the show just not actually being any good.

  2. […] I’ve already gone on record stating my disdain for the idea of remaking Thundercats, for film or television; so it should be no surprise that the […]

Leave a Reply

