Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

The Unemployed Badger

Unemployed Badger is Unemployed!

Well folks, it finally happened.

After 6 months or so of working in the Amazon warehouse, the Azn Badger has finally been laid off.

Thus begins the long and boring journey through the realm of unemployment.

It’s funny, I actually started this blog as a result of losing my previous job.

I spent about 3-4 months coming into the office, without compensation; and after awhile I felt an urge to do something more productive with my days than watching Angry Videogame Nerd, Spoony Experiment, and Nostalgia Critic videos.

Given my fondness for writing, I figured starting a blog would be an enjoyable excursion into the world of public venue writing.

Being as I haven’t missed a day since, I’d say it was a good move.

That being, here I am; in the exact same position I was in so many months ago.

Don’t be surprised if posts on this blog become more intricate and long-winded, after all; it’s not like I’ve got a whole of shit on my plate in my immediate future.

If it’s any indication, I actually sat down for a game of Magic the Gathering with one of my pals this afternoon.

I haven’t done that, nor had any desire to do that in 15 years.

While it was indeed more fun than I had anticipated, as well as quite a bit easier to get a handle on given that I’m no longer an 8 year old with the mind of a 5 year old; I don’t expect I’ll ever put any money or serious time into Magic at this point in my life.

I will however sit down to friendly games with my neighborhood buddies every now and again though.

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for tonight.

To those sharing my current plight, know that I’m right there with you.

To those who are currently employed, and have no such insecurities; to you I say “fuck you.”

All that said and done, who wants to give me a job?

Filed under: Movies, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , ,

20 Responses

  1. David says:

    Ah yes… Unemployment. Been my modus operandi since graduation… Blogging does seem to be a good way to deal with it.

    Maybe we should get together some time and commiserate.

  2. oldgrowthspurt says:

    Sorry about getting the axe, that sucks. At least you won’t have to pay the bridge toll.

  3. missdisplaced says:

    Badger, didn’t you get the Federal Memo that said employers weren’t laying off anymore and the economy was improving?

  4. Kevin Matteson says:

    welcome to the club my friend

  5. Daniel says:

    Its sad, but with misfortune comes opportunity.

    I’ve been sitting on an idea for awhile now. We both watch many of the same sites on a regular basis, so it may be possible that you’ve noticed the gap that I have noticed. You see my friend you have a niche, and its time you make use of it. This means getting in front of the camera as well as getting some decent video editing going on.

    I present my idea, “Azn Badger the Action Movie Critic”

    Nobody else I know has such love for the media, and such a breath of knowledge on it to be able to do it justice. Essentially I recommend doing a similar format as they do on thatguywiththeglasses.com and after you have a bunch of followers (which you will) then you’ll get picked up and start making them fat advertiser dollars that they make. Good luck and godspeed.

    • Sean Parker says:

      It certainly ain’t a bad idea!

      • aznbadger says:

        How’s thing’s Mr. Parker? Have you gotten you life back from the Coup, or are you still tethered to it like a (presumably) sick dog?

      • Sean Parker says:

        The latter, most certainly! But things are coming to a close at last. Just finished re-editing the movie, post-premiere (cut the sucker by 15 minutes!), and in a matter of days will probably start up the promotional engine. Hopefully we’ll be in a handful of festivals this summer!

        And your wacky cameo should make you Washington’s most in-demand action star, which will alleviate any unemployment woes. After all, why hire an entire stunt team when you can get just one man and some dodgy special effects?

    • aznbadger says:

      Thanks for the idea+encouragement sir, your enthusiasm has been duly missed. It’s definitely something I’ve considered, however I have issues with my on-screen presence. I’m not the clearest of speakers, nor am I all that good at performing off the cuff, which would necessitate a fully realized script for most of my videos. In any case, my neighborhood buddy just got a decent HD camera; which he’s already volunteered to let me use for any projects I might need it for. I’ll ponder on it Daniel, but that’s the best I can give you for now.

      • David says:

        Well you did an awesome job voice-acting in my project for what that’s worth.

      • Daniel says:

        I recommend starting out simple. Start with something you’ve already done, so you can work out more of your style first. Once you have a feel for the way you want to do it and the character you want to be, the content will come easier.

      • aznbadger says:

        Thanks Daniel. Dong was trying to help me come up with a format for this. Nothing concrete thus far, but at least the wheels are in motion.

  6. Alex says:

    sux dude. we don’t get to see youaround in warehouse anymore. Sux more Brennan was showing off his blue badge he got today. Man if they let you go, i might not be safe as i thought were. May be i will be joining your club some time soon, then i will get to kick you in the head once again

    • aznbadger says:

      Meh, I’ll be alright. This was probably for the best, given my previous work experience. I wouldn’t worry about yourself though, you’re faster than me; not to mention Derrick seemed pretty happy with your rates. Let me know how Marvel turns out.

Leave a Reply

