Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Hoping This Summer’s Movies Don’t Suck

Man, work sucks.

I had an awesome idea for a card earlier today, but thanks to the sudden emergence of my mandatory overtime day tomorrow; I was forced to hold off on working on the good stuff until the weekend.

Oh well, even though the craftsmanship of the card above is indeed a rush job, and a shitty one at that; in my mind, any Conan is good Conan.

Speaking of which, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I don’t have my hopes up for the new Conan movie this year; but I’ve got my fingers crossed nonetheless.

That seems to be the theme for all of the big blockbuster movies for me this summer.

I’m excited about them, but as of now my biggest hope is that they don’t end up being embarrassingly bad, or worse yet; “I want my money back” bad.

Transformers has a horrendous track record working against it, but it’s Transformers; so I’ll always be willing to give it a shot; common sense be damned.

"Common Sense" and Michael Bay just don't mix...

Green Lantern has good people involved in it’s production, but the art design looks kind of shitty; and Ryan Reynolds isn’t exactly my favorite leading man.

Especially when looks goofy like this.

Thor looks… Y’know what, fuck it. I don’t even wanna’ talk about how Thor looks…

...Although the prospect of seeing Anthony Hopkins in power armor is awfully enticing.

Conan looks to be headed in a good direction, with a harsher aesthetic and what not; however it’s seriously lacking in the Arnold quotient, (which is “zero,” for those that are curious) which will likely be it’s downfall being as the Arnold version is Conan for Conan newbs like myself.

Although the casting of Jason Momoa does wonders to improve the series' Hawaiian quotient, which is always a good thing in my book.

Oh yeah, and Captain America looks alright as of now, but like all of the others listed above; it’s very much a slippery slope.

Pictured: What said slippery slope can lead to when left unchecked.

The chances of a shitty summer movie season are pretty high, though in all honesty; I feel that I’ll probably end up heading to the theater more often than is the norm for me.

Anyway, I got work tomorrow, so I’ll see yah’ later.

 

Filed under: Comics, Movies, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses

  1. Ipodman says:

    I take it you are not on board with Thor…?

    Transformers is critic-proof I’m assuming, judging by how much the first and second movie made at the box office, people really love watching these robots

    • aznbadger says:

      I’ve got no problem with Thor, in fact I think Kenneth Branagh’s flair for melodrama could work out well; it’s that the overall aesthetic for Thor is something that just doesn’t translate well to live action. I’m hopeful, but at this point it’s pretty low on my list of big movies this summer.

      • Ipodman says:

        Well yea, some of the screenshots so far look very cartoony… but I’m excited anyway, because it’s Thor! Hope it goes more “Lord of the Rings” than “Clash of the Titans”

      • aznbadger says:

        Foh’ real man. Clash of the Titans was a pile of ass. My friends and I kept referring to the blue tree guy as a Protoss from Starcraft. Every time he was on screen we’d yell a Protoss quote, in the theater mind you; and bust out laughing.

  2. David says:

    Like your Conan card, and since I don’t follow what’s coming up very closely myself this has become like my go-to site for news on stuff I might actually be interested in (like the summer movies).

Leave a Reply

