Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Demon’s Souls 2!?

Holy Schnikes, Demon’s Souls is getting a sequel!

As some of you may recall, I made it a point to slog my way through the beast that is Demon’s Souls; not just so I could say I did, but because I genuinely enjoyed the experience.

As only the second game I would own for my Playstation 3, I poured hours and months of my time into Demon’s Souls, making progress by inches, and generally doing my best to see and do as much in the game as I could manage.

Highly publicized for it’s brutally unforgiving difficulty, Demon’s Souls was an expansive and creative dungeon crawler that was very much designed for a specific breed of gamer, (read: masochistic) with the rewards of it’s gameplay experience being reserved for only the most persistent and determined of players.

 

Pictured: Said breed of gamer. He's probably still trying to get all 120 stars in Mario 64...

Like most people, my relationship with Demon’s Souls is very much equal parts love and hate.

While I have yet to start a new game+ in Demon’s Souls, as I’ve been busy with work/blogging/playing other games; in hearing news of the upcoming sequel, feelings of excitement brewed in my heart.

Demon’s Souls was a game that struck a chord with me on many levels, however it was by no means a game without it’s flaws.

On the contrary, the game was riddled with design problems and missteps, from somewhat generic art design, to “cheap” combat mechanics, to minor annoyances like respawning monsters.

The trailer for the sequel, titled Dark Souls; is fairly ambiguous in terms of presenting the gameplay mechanics of the game, however even at this point it’s evident that the art design and graphics have been vastly improved, and the repertoire of attacks available to the player have been expanded in some capacity.

Check it out below:

Personally, I’m thinking Dark Souls looks pretty decent.

Bear in mind, I watched this trailer without any sound, (malware fucked my audio drivers in the ass…) so for all know there could be some horrendous narration that totally ruins the entire ambiance of the video.

In any case, if it’s at least as good as Demon’s Souls, then chances are I’ll give Dark Souls a try.

For now though, I guess I’m stuck writing lame blog posts about it as I seriously consider picking up Demon’s Souls for another playthrough.

By the way, Tremors FTW.

Filed under: Games, Movies, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. g00ba says:

    No narration, just a haunting score. This will be everything Demons Soul was and so much more.

    • aznbadger says:

      Haha, thanks for fillin’ in the blank for me. Here’s hoping the game is every bit as awesome as I hope it’ll be. By the way, those giant rats were freakin’ awesome.

Leave a Reply

