Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Sitting In On A Game Of Magic The Gathering

Today I had a chance to sit on my first Magic The Gathering tournament.

After having just done my Tactical Panda Magic card parody the other day, the tournament was kind of a nice surprise; being as Magic was obviously on my mind.

Back in the day, I never really got too into Magic.

I started around fifth edition, and though I played the game and collected the cards for a few years; I never got into it enough to learn the nuances of deck construction or skillful play.

Like many casual card game collectors, most of my fascination with trading card games sprung from the amazing quality of the artwork.

To date, I’ve collected or played Magic, Star Wars, Marvel Overpower, and Pokemon at various points in my youth; though my involvement with each never grew beyond a casual fascination.

Overpower: Fun Until Everybody Forgot How To Play...

Seeing Magic played by skillful players was actually kind of fun.

As is generally the case when watching/listening to things outside of your pool of knowledge, there was a lot of information that blew right over my head; however I was frequently surprised by how much of the core mechanics of the game I was able to remember.

Tapping mana, buffing creatures, managing upkeep, it all came back to me like I was some sort of long retired pro having flashbacks of my heyday.

Which is of course bullshit, being as I was never any good at Magic.

Pictured: How most Magic games involving The Azn Badger would usually end up. By the way, I'm the guy on the right.

I found it downright spellbinding how all the players in this evening’s tournament were able to cite familiarity with each other’s cards, to the point in which little or no explanation of each player’s intent and card capabilities was necessary, making for a far more streamlined experience than I was used to.

Hell, 80% of the time I spent playing Magic was devoted to my opponent and I reading our card abilities to each other and fiercely debating their fairness.

Anyway, I don’t have much to say about the tournament, other than the fact that it was a lot of fun to watch other (better) players tool around in a game I abandoned so many years ago.

I don’t see myself ever getting back into card games, but it was a fun trip down memory lane nonetheless.

Excuse me as I root through my old Magic cards in search of any rare or valuable ones that may have found their way into my collection…

Filed under: Comics, Games, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Trevor Hart, Trevor Hart. Trevor Hart said: Sitting In On A Game Of Magic The Gathering http://goo.gl/fb/48lU4 […]

  2. Kevin says:

    BYEAAAHHH!!! this is my favorite one so far for obvious reasons

Leave a Reply

