Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

Collaborative Comic Project

A Far Side favorite of the Azn Badger's.

As you might have guessed based on the subject of some of my previous posts, I love comic books.

Though I’m almost exclusively a reader of superhero comics of the DC and Marvel variety, ever since I took a class in “Sequential Visual Narrative” in college; I’ve found myself enamored with the story-telling capabilities of the medium.

That class, with it’s impossibly epic instructor, Jim Blevins; was almost 100% responsibility for getting me back into comics.

 

Pictured: Jim Blevins, on any given Thursday.

While I fancied myself a fledgling pen and paper artist at the time, Blevins taught me how to use some basic techniques and tools that I still use to this day.

Since then, I’ve kept largely to writing most of my story ideas, (of which I have many) though thanks to the artistic confidence/competence I gained from the Sequential Visual Narrative class, I have tried every now and again to make comics of my own.

The problem with making comics, at least for me; comes from managing the workload.

I’m a sketch artist, and a very detail oriented one at that, so when it comes to drawing panels for a comic, each one takes me an ungodly amount of time to manufacture.

In other words:

I think I have it in me to make comics, but I don’t think I could ever do so with any sort of deadline attached.

To date, I have never finished a comic that I set out to make.

 

Pictured: A cover to an unfinished comic.

That being said, in the world of professional comics, the pencillers, inkers, and writers are rarely ever one in the same.

It’s like the movie industry:

With the notable exception of the indefatigable Robert Rodriguez, nobody makes a movie entirely by themselves.

That’s where my buddy Mencius comes in.

As of last week, my buddy Mencius of Another Sunny Morning fame came to me with an idea for a comic.

Though he’s always in the mood for a creative collaboration, I was massively surprised to hear from Mencius that he wanted to make a comic.

The project he had in mind was of the more personal and “indie” variety, much in line with his taste in comics.

While the basic plotline would involve humorous and fairly genuine depictions of ourselves, much of the story would also have a fantastical, hyper-real quality involving exaggerated versions of our desired selves that will likely come across as being somewhat akin to superhero comics.

*Cough!* "Residual Self Image."

While it goes without saying that I was immediately on board for the project, I couldn’t help but feel that this was going to work.

2 creative and motivated friends, with very different artistic and creative styles, working in tandem to write and draw a comic.

While our artistic differences may very well result in the comic book equivalent to a Frankenstein’s monster, (when was the last time you saw characters in 1 panel, drawn by 2 different artists?) I can honestly say that I wouldn’t care.

Working together with friends is fun.

Making comics is a painstaking labor of love.

Put the 2 together, and you have the makings of a project that will drive me nuts and bring me great happiness all at the same time.

It may take awhile to get started on this one, but chances are I’ll start a new website to accommodate the project materials and updates.

Here’s hoping this doesn’t end up like my ill-fated movie project that never so much as reached the pre-production phase…

Filed under: Comics, Movies, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Sean Parker says:

    In middle school (I think I was 11), Austin and I collaborated on a comic we called “Bonk Time” which involved Robin Williams, a stick figure, and a disfigured farmer involved in a brutal and bloody war against the muppet cast of Sesame Street. Over the years, it gained numerous, even more demented sequels.

    Just last year we completed Bonk Time 9, and although it’s something we’d probably never show to a good portion of our friends, our parents, or the general public, we put a lot of time into it and I think we really enriched the Sesame Street mythos in the process.

    So… um, anyways, just wanted to say that in my experience, collaborative comic-making works! Good luck!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Trevor Hart. Trevor Hart said: Collaborative Comic Project http://goo.gl/fb/Mh8ts […]

Leave a Reply

