Azn Badger's Blog

What About the Lysine Contingency…?

The Malware That Wouldn’t Die…

Ever had a Malware attack on your computer?

It’s a pain in the ass, ain’t it?

For the past year or so, I’ve had Malware attacks on my computer every couple of months or so.

I’m not sure if it’s a new one every time, or just a single, tenacious virus that continually goes dormant and resurfaces from time to time, but either way; Malware has been a thorn in my side for some time now.

Now, before you judge me, and call me some sort of technical newb or some shit; bear in mind that I am not a technical person.

Truth be told, I fuckin’ hate computers.

Honestly, if not for the computer being such an essential tool in this day and age; I really would prefer to stay away from them.

You see, computers; and indeed most of the software that run on them, are tools that deal in intangibles and rules.

For instance, when you’re working on say, Adobe Photoshop; you aren’t every actually putting your hands on the project you’re working on, rather you are manipulating the digital “object” within the confinements and restrictions of the toolset provided to you.

That’s where computers and the Azn Badger don’t mix.

You see, I tend to “feel my way around” most things in life.

I’m more of a sketch artist as opposed to a T-square wielding engineer.

I rarely ever use the right tool for the job, which often results in me getting things done; but not without exerting myself 10 times harder than I needed to.

That being said, when it comes to digital toolsets, or computers in general; you can’t really get away with this course of action.

You can’t “play” with a computer without first knowing “how.”

And that’s why things like Malware always manage to fuck me over for days, if not weeks at a time.

I’m familiar with the most basic means of combating them, however the Malware I’ve had for the past week or so has really got me on the ropes.

Needless to say, this new one is kind of tricky.

It’s far less visible than any other Malware/virus I’ve dealt with, largely because it doesn’t mess with my browser window or throw pop-ups at you like most others do.

No, this one is even courteous enough to give you an hour or so to play around on your computer before it affects anything at all.

Near as I can tell, whatever this thing is, it grabs hold of your memory and chokes it’s ass out, ’cause after an hour or so of tooling around on my computer; everything just grinds to a halt.

My main issue with this virus, is the fact that; despite the hour or so it gives me, that isn’t nearly long enough to run a virus scan.

My virus scan program, along with the whole computer, craps out probably 45 minutes to an hour before it can finish, allowing me to see that my computer is indeed infected, but not giving me enough time to quarantine/delete the infestation.

Some of the viruses that have been showing up in the scans (before it craps out mind you) are as follows:

Tracking Cookie

AdRotator

Gen-Koobface

Gen-Deskryp [OSK]

Anyway, this has been yet another whiny rant from the Azn Badger.

Sorry about that.

I promise, the fun will return once I finally get my computer back to normal.

 

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. […] Technical Difficulties Remember that one post I did about the malware that wouldn’t die? […]

Leave a Reply

